Skip to content

Touch the Heavens.

July 11, 2012

Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design for the present. – Zig Ziglar

If I told you, you could have all the joy, peace, love and happiness in the world right now, in this exact moment, would you take it? Would you grab a hold of that promise and live with an uncontrollable flame of love and life right where you are?

Matthew 6:34 says, “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.”

We have to pick our battles. There is a time and place to speak up. There is a time to let things marinade. There is a time to take action. There is a time to be still and wait. If we are moved from the inside out, we will find a transcending joy that cannot be touched. Biblically, joy is defined as an unwavering circumstance that transcends love from our hearts. If we are centered in His love, nothing that happens to us can steal the kind of joy God offers us.

God gives us that joy. When we seek His face, He offers us the fruits of His Spirit. They are always available to us. Right here. Right now. In this moment His Spirit gives you….

Love.
Peace.
Patience.
Self control.
Faithfulness.
Kindness.
Goodness.
Joy.

C.S. Lewis said, “for the present is the point at which time touches eternity.” We aren’t offered anything more than the moment right now. You can’t go back to this morning where missed a moment of opportunity. You can’t get to the moments of tonight. There is no rewind or fast forward button, so why do anything less then absorb the abundant blessings an gifts of the moment right now. Why not seize every moment as if it’s your last?

I don’t want to look back on my life and question, “what if I would’ve given all of me? What if I would’ve given everything I had in that moment?” I have found the most alive I feel, is when I give all I am to the moment. When stop doing and start being.

Being fully aware of the souls around.
Being fully present in the moment.
Being fully alive right where I am.

I don’t want to go a single day without His all consuming passion and love and peace inside me. I refuse to just go through the motions in this life. To let my past do anything more then change me and to not let worries of the future consume me.

Ask anyone who has poured all their heart and soul into the day how they felt before they rested their head on their pillow. I can promise you, the joy, the unexplainable happiness they felt that day, will spill into their next morning.

There is a sad misconception that giving too much of ourselves away will only drain us and make us weary. When we try to do it ourselves, this is true. But if we allow God to fill us up with His love and Spirit in every moment, we will have more than we will know what to do with.

Giving all you are away every day doesn’t make you bankrupt. It does just the opposite. It gives you riches and wealth beyond this world that touch the heavens.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

