Skip to content

Love is a Language.

July 14, 2012

A different language is a different vision of life. –Federico Fellini

There is a lot of things I don’t understand about human behavior. People say things I don’t always understand. People do things I can’t comprehend. I have found, even for myself, more words don’t come out as I have planned. I take a look at the world we live in and our ability to communicate with each other, and we fall short. I am no better.

I find my communication skills are horrendous some days, at best. I know what’s in my head and what I feel in my heart, but finding words to make a sentence is a struggle for me sometimes.

We live in a country that has the privilege to communicate in ways people around the world couldn’t even imagine. The sad part is, we take this gift, and we abuse it.

We use it passive aggressively to handle situation in our life.
We break up through texts.
We silence phone calls.
We ignore emails.
We use our twitter accounts and Facebook statuses to hurt others.
We forget to call the people we love.

Our words, our ability to speak, our ability to understand- these are all a gift from God. He gave them to use to build our relationships. To encourage each other. They weren’t meant to tear each other down.

Hebrews 10:24 says, “Let us think of ways to motivate one another to acts of love and good works.” This verse reminds me that sometimes it isn’t about coming up with the precise words, but instead communicating through my actions.

I have been asked by many, what is it about Haiti that makes me want to live there? What is it that moved my heart so much?

Though we came with a purpose to serve, the reality is, they served me. They gave me something I could never repay them for. They opened my heart to feel Gods love on a tangible level. Something I never experienced in my life. I could physically feel Gods love wash over me in the eyes of the children we played with. I could feel His love wrap around me by strangers passing by in the streets.

The thing is, I had no clue what they were saying to me 99.9% of the time. Likewise, they had no idea what I was saying to them. So how were we able to communicate?

With love.

Though communication is an awesome gift from God, He gives something even bigger. He gives a gift that is understood regardless of language. This gift can be heard by the deaf and seen by the blind.

This gift is His unfailing and everlasting love.

There are three things that break down the walls of every barrier we could encounter.

Love.
Laughter.
And smiles.

Love, laughter and smiles are the same in every language. I have learned, that even though I might not say the right thing at the right time, my love can change the hearts I encounter. No matter if you understand someone’s words or behavior, or if they struggle to understand ours, remember, love covers a multitude of our unintentional wrongs and transcends smiles and laughter into the hearts around us.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

