Skip to content

Fighter.

July 17, 2012

Sometimes you must fight and win, just because all the pain and suffering you experienced up to this point on your quest would be rendered futile if you were to surrender now. – Alvin Day

I’m a fighter. Not in the sense that I look to start arguments. I don’t look for ways to rebel. I don’t look for faults to start confrontation. In fact, I hate that kind of fighting. I think it’s a waste of precious energy and only tears souls down instead of building them up.

I whole heartedly believe we must speak our hearts. We must tell people how we feel. If we don’t voice our perspectives, what our eyes and hearts see in this life, how can we ever know how to better ourselves or better each other.

Communication is not the problem, though. The problem isn’t in the disagreements or the arguing, the problem is our motivation behind it. Are you fighting just to fight or are you fighting with a purpose?

When I say I’m a fighter, I am saying I fight for what I believe.

I will fight for the dreams God put in my heart.
I will fight for the passions that have become fires in my soul.
I will fight for what I love.
I will fight for who I love.

As much as I want to fight for the above, I sometimes find myself paralyzed with fear. Fear of hurting someone sometimes withholds me from saying what’s on my heart. Sometimes we have to pick our battles. We can’t and won’t win every fight. But when I do fight, I want to fight with a loving perspective.

You see, I believe, with all I am, that love covers all things. I hold tight to Gods promise that the truest, deepest, most potent and real love is enough.

It’s enough to heal.
It’s enough to forgive.
It’s enough to encourage.
It’s enough to motivate change.
It’s enough to fix wrongs.
It’s enough to change our hearts.

A single act set every captive free. The motivation? Love. God has demonstrated love was enough on the Cross.

This is what motivates me to fight. To find the strength on the days it feels too heavy. There are times in our lives where bad things happen.

Sometimes, it feels like when it rains, it pours.
Sometimes it is going to feel like you’re constantly swimming upstream.

But I have found Gods love washes me and renews my strength to fight. I have a confident hope and faith that my lot is specific for my soul. I could not be who I am today without the storms of my life.

Paul writes in Philippians 4:11-13,
“Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

There is going to be days where the enemy is going to tell you to worry. You’re going to wonder how that bill will get paid. You’ll wonder how you will have enough time or how you will make it through.

Regardless of the darkness you are in, there is a light, and it lies in the love of Christ. Because when you focus on His love, His everlasting unfailing love, you will see how big, how deep, how true and how strong His love is. And there isn’t a single thing that outweighs the love He holds for us.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

